The state's ban on texting while driving goes into full effect on Friday at midnight.
Enforcement of the state's ban on texting while driving begins on Friday. It marks the end of a six-month grace period since the law went into effect last August.
"It has a part for adults, which is a texting while driving ban, and a part for teens under 18, which is a full-hand held wireless communication device ban," said Kimberly Schwind, with AAA Ohio.
Minors would be prohibited from even talking on their phones while driving. That includes using them at stop lights, according to Schwind.
The penalty for teens violating the law is a $150 fine and 60-day license suspension for the first offense. The fine doubles with a second offense, and the license suspension lasts one year.
For drivers over 18, the law is a secondary offense, meaning drivers must be stopped for another traffic violation first. Adult drivers caught face a fine of up to $150 dollars.
Ohio is one of thirty-nine states that have bans on texting behind the wheel. All but four have primary enforcement for all drivers.
"We really will continue to push for a primary ban here in Ohio, and that will probably happen in the next couple of years," Schwind said.
She says 80 percent of AAA members in Ohio support the idea.
Texting drivers aren't hard to spot, according to Ohio State Highway Patrol Lt. Chad Neal.
"You see someone traveling rather slow, slower than the posted speed limit, or you see them drive off the right side of the roadway or not paying attention to what they're doing," Lt. Neal said.
He says in many cases it is obvious if texting was a factor in crashes. Neal says they're seeing an increase in distracted driving cases caused not only by cell phone use, but people eating or messing with their radio or other vehicle controls.